Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Selecting a driver training school is a most important decision. Some things to consider when selecting a school are:

Segment I classes must be a full 24 hours of classroom instruction, as prescribed by state law following a printed lesson plan available for your inspection, and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. The behind-the-wheel instruction should address teh 47 plus written objectives as published by the Michigan Department of Education. The students performance record should be available for your inspection documenting successful completion of each of the performance objectives. Ideally the classroom time and the behind-the-wheel driving instruction should be coordinated for maximum effect. Some schools provide all 24 hours of classroom instruction and then offer behind-the-wheel training. Some schools utilize a range as a money saving technique, Quality One provides 6 hours of on the road training. Does the school offer a parents meeting and do they issue a temporary driver license to the student to practice with a licensed parent? Remember that the more driving time on the road, the better the opportunity to acquaint the student with traffic hazards, defensive driving skills and more opportunity to correct early mistakes. Does the school allow you to enroll your student at 14 years 8 months as intended by the Michigan Graduated Licensing law? By early enrollment the student will have at least one full year of supervised driving before being allowed to drive by him/herself.

Segment I lesson plans should address the performance objectives as outlined by state law and the department of education.

Segment II must consist of 6 hours of classroom instruction that will examine the students driving experiences and provide information to prepare them for their use of the Level 2 driving license. The class must be offered over three days, two hours per day. Defensive driving, drugs and alcohol, fatigue and road rage should all be part of the program.

Class size should be limited to 36 students by state law but, ideally, should be under 30 students.

Driver education vehicles should be late-model cars equipped with dual brakes and identified by large student driver signs.

Textbooks should be current and in good condition. Each student should receive a copy of the state driver's handbook.

Instructors should keep records of each student's progress both in the classroom and on the road. The instructor should be able to accommodate those who have different learning styles.

Classes should be open for inspection and attendance by parents/guardians.

Instructors should be experienced and should be receiving regular workshop training to stay abreast of current laws and teaching and driving techniques. Do the instructors know anything about the third party road test? Have they taken the test to really know what it is about?

Quality One Driver Training
Quality Plus Driver Testing
welcomes your questions